Our board

OurBoard Portrait ContentWidth

PICTURED, FROM LEFT: Nicola Crauford, Brendon Green, David Thomas, Margaret Devlin, Colin Magee (board intern), Catherine Harland, Julia Hoare, Rob Fisher (company secretary).


Margaret Devlin



Margaret Devlin is a professional director with extensive experience in governance and executive management, primarily in the water and infrastructure sectors in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. She has served as a director for a range of entities with a particular focus on audit and risk. She is currently chair of Harrison Grierson, Lyttelton port and Women in Infrastructure Network and a director of Meteorological Services of NZ. Margaret is a Chartered Fellow of the NZ Institute of Directors.

General disclosure of interests: Chair, Harrison Grierson Limited; Director, Meteorological Services of NZ Limited; Director, Waikato Regional Airport; Chair, Titanium Park (wholly-owned subsidiary of Waikato Regional Airport); Director, IT Partners Group; Director, Aurora Energy; Independent Chair, Audit and Risk Committee, Waikato District Council; Chair, Women in Infrastructure Network; Member, Waikato branch of Institute of Directors; Councillor, WINTEC; Councillor and Member of the Audit and Risk Committee of Waikato University; Director and Chair, Lyttelton Port Company Limited; Chartered Fellow, Institute of Directors; Director, Infrastructure New Zealand; Member, National Infrastructure Advisory Board.

Julia Hoare


Deputy Chair; Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee

Julia Hoare brings a comprehensive range of commercial, financial, tax, regulatory and sustainability expertise to Watercare which she developed over the course of 20 years as a partner with PwC. She retired from the PwC partnership on 31 December 2012 to pursue a full-time corporate governance career.

Julia is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants and is the vice president of the Institute of Directors National Council.

General disclosure of interests: Director, AWF Madison Group Limited; Director, New Zealand Post Limited; Deputy Chair, The a2 Milk Company Limited; Director, The a2 Milk Company (New Zealand) Limited; Director, Port of Tauranga Limited; Chair, Auckland Committee, Institute of Directors; Member, Advisory Panel to External Reporting Board; Vice President, Institute of Directors National Council; Director, Auckland International Airport Limited.

Rob Fisher


Company Secretary

Rob Fisher is a barrister who has specialised in resource management, public law and local government law. As a litigator, he appeared frequently before the Environment Court, the High Court and the Court of Appeal. In a 40-year legal career, he has provided advice and expertise to both private and public bodies, especially in the consenting of large infrastructure projects. Rob was the 2010 Barrister of the Year in the New Zealand Law Awards and was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Hon. Dame Annette King


Chair of the Strategic Transformation Programme Committee

Former MP, Dame Annette King brings 30 years of governance, community and public health experience to Watercare. During her time in Parliament, Annette held several key ministerial portfolios – Health, Transport, Justice, Police and State Services – and was a member of the Finance and Expenditure, Health, and Local Government and Environment Select Committees. Annette continues as patron for a number of community organisations.

General disclosure of interests: Chair, Life Flight Trust Wellington; Interim Chair, Earthquake Commission (EQC).

*Annette retired from the board on 31 December 2018.

Catherine Harland 


Chair of the People, Remuneration and Appointments Committee

Catherine Harland is a consultant with a background in research and public policy in local and central government. She has worked for MartinJenkins, The New Zealand Institute and Auckland University of Technology’s Institute of Public Policy. Catherine was an elected local government member for 15 years and involved in various community groups including five years as Chair of the Auckland Observatory and Planetarium Trust Board.

Catherine is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

General disclosure of interests: Director, McHar Investments Limited; Director, Interface Partners iLimited; Trustee, One Tree Hill Jubilee Educational Trust; Member, Auckland Regional Amenities Funding Board; Member, Urban Planning Pillar Critical Friends; Committee member, Broadway Park Owners’ Society Incorporated; Independent Chair, Aircraft Noise Community Consultative Group.

David Thomas


David Thomas has over 35 years’ experience in the building industry, and has led key business units within Fletcher Building for the last 26 years. He is currently the General Manager of Winstone Wallboards Ltd. David was on the founding Board of the South Auckland Crown Health Enterprise and represented Fletcher Challenge Ltd on the Board of Māori Development Corporation.

General disclosure of interests: Chair, Ngāti Whakaue Tribal Lands Incorporated; Chair, Gypsum Board Manufacturers of Australasia; Shareholder/Employee – Fletcher Building Limited; Director, New Zealand Ceiling & Drywall Supplies Limited; Chair, Altus NZ Limited, Director, Winstone Wallboards Ltd. 

Nicola Crauford


Chair of the Asset Management Plan (AMP) and Major Capex Committee (AMCC)

Dr Nicki Crauford is a professional company director with extensive experience in infrastructure including executive roles in oil and gas and the electricity sectors in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. She is currently Chair of GNS Science and a director of Orion New Zealand and the Environmental Protection Authority. She is a former director of Genesis Energy, Wellington Water and Fire and Emergency New Zealand. Nicki is a Chartered Professional Engineer, a Fellow of Engineering New Zealand and the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

General disclosure of interests: Chair, GNS Science Limited; Director, Orion New Zealand Limited; Director, Environmental Protection Authority (EPA); Member of Electoral Authority – Cooperative Bank Limited; Specialist Advisor, WorleyParsons New Zealand Limited; Director and Shareholder, Riposte Consulting Limited; Independent Chair, Joint Governance Board, Chorus and Visionstream UFB Connect; Member, EPA Decision Making Committee, OMV Great South Basin marine discharge consent application.

Brendon Green


Brendon Green brings extensive project development experience, primarily from the energy and Māori sectors. Brendon’s career includes technical-commercial roles with NZ Dairy Board, Contact Energy, General Electric (Mexico and in the US) and Mercury (formerly Mighty River Power). His experience includes the development of power stations (thermal, geothermal, wind and landfill), and establishing joint ventures with Māori entities.

Brendon brings over a decade of governance experience from past and present roles that include being the past Chair of Tirohia Landfill Generation joint venture. Brendon founded Kaitiaki Advisory Limited that specialises in resource development with a focus around energy, water, minerals and dairy.

General disclosure of interests: Director – Kaitiaki Advisory Limited, Electruck, Bay Dairy Limited, Peak2Peak Limited, Tainui Kawhia Incorporation, Advanced Biotech NZ. Economic Portfolio Executive for Te Runanganui o Ngäti Hikairo, appointed Waikato Tainui representative for Runanga Manukau Institute of Technology – Te Whakakitenga o Waikato representativeā